Simple Dinner 4 – Tomato Soup

6 Mar

I love soup! Whenever I go out to eat (which is sadly not too often these days), if there is soup I order a bowl. But, as much as I want to like tomato soup I am usually disappointed. This is a bit of a problem as my partner really enjoys tomato soup. I think I may have found a solution; a tomato soup that is full of veggies and contains no cream. I served this soup with grilled cheese sandwiches, making for a light, filling, and very comforting meal!

*I think this could be greatly improved by using fresh tomatoes, but it is not tomato season, and with the other veggies, the canned ones tasted fine.*

Tomato Soup

Ingredients

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 onion, chopped

3 celery stalks, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped

2 cups low sodium chicken broth

1 large can diced tomato

1 small can tomato paste

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. In a large pot heat the oil then add in the onion, celery, carrot, and garlic, cooking on medium heat until soft (about 10 minutes).

2. Add the broth and allow to simmer, cooking the veggies for another 10 minutes.

3. Add in the tomatoes and tomato paste, bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.

4. I prefer a smoother soup, so using an immersion blender I made a thick soup. This would be just as tasty left as a chunky soup. Before serving, add any salt and pepper. Enjoy!

One Response to “Simple Dinner 4 – Tomato Soup”

  1. emmycooks March 6, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I love soup as well, I probably make it twice a week. But hardly ever tomato soups–this one sounds good!

Leave a Reply

