Things I was not prepared for #2- Going to sleep

27 Oct

While I was pregnant I spent a lot of time mentally preparing for the challenges of having a newborn. I knew that I would not be able to sleep as much as I would like and that I would not have time for a lot of things that I enjoyed doing pre-baby. But one thing that I was in no way prepared for was how incredibly difficult it can be for our baby to fall asleep. Pre-baby I assumed that when our baby was tired we would rock, and maybe sing for a little while (5-10 minutes) and the baby would be asleep. We very quickly found out that this is not how our baby thought things should go.

I rock, sing, use a pacifier, nurse, and repeat for up to an hour with a crying, and obviously tired, baby some days. I think that if I time it right going to sleep will be easier and quicker and so at the first sign of sleepiness, I run to put our baby to bed. Sometimes this works like magic and other times I’m singing “Twinkle, twinkle little star” until I’m hoarse.

Ever the optimist, I keep telling myself that tomorrow will be easier…here’s to hoping it is!

4 Responses to “Things I was not prepared for #2- Going to sleep”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed October 27, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Stay optimistic – it does get easier. Then a little harder, then easier. It comes and goes and waves, but always remember that it DOES get better just when you think you can’t bare it anymore.

  2. allisonwm October 27, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I’m nowhere near parenthood but I’ve babysat a lot of infants through an agency, and I have to say this is always the most “difficult” part of babysitting! I wish you luck!

  3. daydreamer869 October 27, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    It Definitely gets better! When my daughter was a newborn, I sang every song until i figured out that she liked “Mama’s little baby” and would instantly fall asleep when I sang that (and trust me i’m not much a singer at all lol!)! Now that she’s one, it has become much more difficult! LOL! Good luck on your journey through motherhood!! 🙂

  4. claudiawjohnson December 29, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Oh, bless you, my dear! Some day you may get to sleep again!

Leave a Reply

