Lactation Cookies

10 Oct

At a pre-baby class the instructor told us about lactation cookies. I loved the idea that I could eat cookies while also doing something that would help my baby. I did not want to buy cookies (they can be a little expensive), and the recipes I found online were either unhealthy (but tasty) or had too many ingredients that I could not find at my local grocery store (this recipe includes information about the milk producing properties of the ingredients).

Most women produce enough milk for their child(ren) and supply problems should be discussed with a medical or lactation professional. However, these cookies at most may add a little boost and at least are tasty and have, relatively, healthy ingredients. I made and ate them a lot in the first few months. I think I needed the extra calories and liked having an excuse to eat chocolate.

This recipe is a variation of the second one found on peaceful parenting. I hope you enjoy them!

Easy (almost) Vegan Lactation Cookies

 

Makes 4-5 dozen

Ingredients

1 cup Ground Flax Seed

8 Tbsp. Water

1 1/2 cups Flour

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1 tsp. Salt

4 Tbsp. Brewer’s Yeast

1/2 cup Vegan Butter (I like Earth Balance), melted

1 1/3 cup Brown Sugar

1/2 cup Egg Beater (or 2 eggs or vegan replacement for 2 eggs)

1 tsp. Vanilla

3/4 cup Unsweetened Applesauce

1 1/2 cups Chocolate Chips

1/4 cup Chocolate-covered Raisins (Trader Joe’s are especially tasty)

3 cups Oats

 

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350. Grease baking sheets.

2. Mix flax and water in small bowl. In large bowl mix butter and sugar, add eggs and vanilla, stirring until combined. Stir in flax and water mixture and applesauce. Add flour, baking soda, salt, and brewer’s yeast until well combined. Mix in chocolate, raisins, and oats.

3. Drop rounded by rounded spoonful onto baking sheets. Cook for 12-14 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

 

 

Leave a Reply

